Come Hear Me...

Back to All Events

Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival: Beethoven Archduke

  • New Mexico Museum of Art (map)

Beethoven "Archduke"


KODÁLY Serenade for Two Violins & Viola, Op. 12

ROLF WALLIN Stonewave for Three Percussionists

BEETHOVEN Piano Trio in B-flat Major, Op. 97, “Archduke”

Beethoven’s trailblazing “Archduke” Trio, dedicated to the composer’s friend, pupil, and patron, the Archduke Rudolph of Austria, is a landmark work in the chamber music repertoire. Kodály’s Serenade, scored for the unusual pairing of two violins and viola, was praised by Kodály’s fellow countryman Béla Bartók as “a genuine, modern product of Hungarian culture” that’s “extraordinarily rich in melodies.” The program also includes a late-20th-century work by Norwegian composer Rolf Wallin, Stonewave for Three Percussionists.

Inon Barnatan, Martin Beaver, Paul Huang, Tien-Hsin Cindy Wu, Peter Wiley, Robert Kleiger, Steven White, Gregory Zuber