Come Hear Me...

Back to All Events

Concordia Chamber Players

  • Trinity Chuch, Solebury 6587 Upper York Rd Solebury, PA 18963 (map)

Concordia Chamber Players Subscription Concert III

“Our final subscription concert is an incredible discovery of exciting and thrilling music. We will be featuring two works by composer Andy Akiho, described by the NY Times as “mold breaking,” “dramatic,” “vital.” To open the program we present “21” for cello and marimba. This composition, inspired by the 21st measure of the Fugue movement of Bach’s Violin Sonata No. 1, calls for the cellist to also play the kick drum and trigger a looping pedal joined by the marimba player who uses many techniques in addition to playing the marimba. You will then hear the String Quartet No. 2 of Sergei Prokofiev based on Kabardinian themes. I chose this work to compliment the rhythmic vitality of the Akiho compositions while immersing you in the sounds of strings only. We all come together then for a performance of another Akiho composition, “LIgNEouS” meaning “made, consisting of or resembling wood” for marimba and string quartet.”

“21” for cello and marimba — Andy Akiho 

String quartet no. 2 “Kabardinian” — Sergei Prokofiev

LIgNEouS for marimba and string quartet — Andy Akiho 

Ian Rosenbaum – marimba, Kristin LeeTien-Hsin Cindy Wu – violins, Dimitri Murrath – viola, Michelle Djokic – cello