Come Hear Me...

Back to All Events

Great Lakes Chamber Music Festival: Little Orchestras of the Mind

Pianist Gilles Vonsattel makes his Festival debut alongside new Shouse Institute artists Callisto String Quartet for a performance of Brahms’ Piano Quintet. Often called “the crown of his chamber music” and hailed as a masterpiece, Brahms’ Piano Quintet combines adventurous melodic passages with a consistently dark mood to create what Brahms scholar Jan Swafford describes as: "at times anguished, at times (in the scherzo) demonic, at times tragic."

GLIÈRE | Ten Duets for Two Cellos, Op. 53
ARENSKY | String Quartet No. 2, Op. 35
BRAHMS | Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34
*25th Anniversary Birthday Candle Premiere